How Long After A Car Accident Can I Claim Injury?

Car accidents can be an overwhelming experience. Following your accident, you may not notice right away that you have incurred injuries. As injuries appear over time, you may wonder, “how long after an auto accident can I claim injury?”

While it is always best to file your claim as soon as possible, you need to keep an eye out for signs that indicate filing a claim.

Being in a car crash can give the vehicle’s occupants a variety of injuries. Here is a list of some of the most common injuries we see after our clients have been in Utah car accidents: 

  • Whiplash
  • Lacerations
  • Bruising
  • Internal organ damage and bleeding
  • Concussions, brain bleeds, and Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBI) 
  • Neck and back injuries
  • Strains, sprains, and broken bones

Some of these injuries will be apparent at the scene of the accident; however, injuries such as bruising and internal injuries will take longer to appear. You may think that these injuries are normal after an accident, but it is best to seek medical help immediately, so you know exactly what injuries you have incurred. 

How to know if your injuries came from your car accident:

No matter how normal an injury might feel, it’s always best to get checked out after you’ve been in an auto accident. When emergency medical professionals arrive at the accident scene, allow them to check you for injuries and seek additional medical treatment. You will want to have medical records showing your treatment for the injuries. Your insurance company typically requires this documentation as part of your injury claim. 

Medical records will also be vital in determining injuries before and after the auto accident. Even if you had an injury before the accident, it could have been made worse because of the accident. Your medical provider will know what questions to ask, tests to run, and documentation to provide to your insurance company and attorney. 

A personal injury attorney will work with you to gather the documentation to show when your injury began and if it was aggravated by the accident. They’ll also work with the insurance adjuster to provide any necessary information regarding your medical care related to the accident.

How to file a personal injury claim:

You’ll need to be aware of two different deadlines for filing personal injury claims: the insurance company’s deadline to file an insurance claim and the statute of limitations in your state.

Depending on your insurance, you may have up to 24 hours to inform them of the accident. In Utah, you have up to 4 years to file a personal injury claim. This window is large and the longer you wait the harder it is to justify injuries and compensation from an accident several years prior. That is why it is always best to get in touch with an attorney and medical providers as soon as possible.

Can an attorney help me get a fair settlement?

Yes, we recommend getting an attorney that specializes in car accidents and personal injury cases. They will offer you the best advice and help on your specific case.

If you are in Utah and Arizona, contact Robinson Injury Law for a free case evaluation and consultation. We will help you receive the compensation you deserve for your auto accident injuries and vehicle damages. 

For Utah, call 801-845-HURT

For Arizona, call 602-603-HURT, or visit robinsoninjurylaw.com

Categories:

Comments are closed